EURO 2024 Knockout Stage: Format, Schedule, Bracket & More

Get ready for the most electrifying matches of UEFA Euro 2024! After the group stage, the tournament will feature the 16 best teams in the knockout stage.

This single-elimination phase promises high stakes, nail-biting finishes, and a new European champion crowned.

In this content, we share the EURO 2024 knockout stage format, schedule, bracket, and everything you need to know about the knockout stage!

Knockout Stage Format & Rules: A Clash of Titans

The knockout stage of EURO 2024 follows a single-elimination format. This part of the tournament begins after the group stage, featuring the top two teams from each group, along with the best third-placed teams, depending on the tournament’s structure. From here, every match is a do-or-die situation: the winner advances and the loser goes home.

The knockout phase includes the round of 16, quarterfinals, semifinals, and the much-anticipated final. If a match ends in a draw after 90 minutes, extra time of two 15-minute halves will be played. If the deadlock persists, a penalty shootout determines the winner.

Here’s the breakdown:

Round of 16: The 16 qualified teams are paired based on their group stage performance. The top two teams from each group and the four best third-placed teams battle for a spot in the quarterfinals.

Quarterfinals: The eight winners from the round of 16 clash in four thrilling matches to secure a place in the semifinals.

Semifinals: The stakes rise even higher as the remaining four teams fight for a chance to play in the grand finale.

Final: The ultimate showdown! The two semifinal winners lock horns on July 14th, 2024, at the iconic Berlin Olympic Stadium to decide the EURO 2024 champion.

Knockout Stage Schedule: Mark Your Calendars!

The knockout stage kicks off on June 30th, 2024, with a round of 16 matches. Each round will see two exciting games played daily, ensuring a continuous flow of footballing action.

Here’s a quick overview:

  • Round of 16: June 29th – July 2nd
  • Quarterfinals: July 5th – July 6th
  • Semifinals: July 9th – July 10th
  • Final: July 14th, 2024
DateStageMatchTeamsLocationTime
Saturday, June 29Round of 16Match 382A vs 2BBerlin6 pm CEST, 5 pm BST, 12 pm ET
Saturday, June 29Round of 16Match 371A vs 2CDortmund9 pm CEST, 8 pm BST, 3 pm ET
Sunday, June 30Round of 16Match 401C vs 3D/E/FGelsenkirchen6 pm CEST, 5 pm BST, 12 pm ET
Sunday, June 30Round of 16Match 391B vs 3A/D/E/FCologne9 pm CEST, 8 pm BST, 3 pm ET
Monday, July 1Round of 16Match 422D vs 2EDusseldorf6 pm CEST, 5 pm BST, 12 pm ET
Monday, July 1Round of 16Match 411F vs 3A/B/CFrankfurt9 pm CEST, 8 pm BST, 3 pm ET
Tuesday, July 2Round of 16Match 431E vs 3A/B/C/DMunich6 pm CEST, 5 pm BST, 12 pm ET
Tuesday, July 2Round of 16Match 441D vs 2FLeipzig9 pm CEST, 8 pm BST, 3 pm ET
Friday, July 5Quarter-finalsMatch 45W39 vs W37Stuttgart6 pm CEST, 5 pm BST, 12 pm ET
Friday, July 5Quarter-finalsMatch 46W41 vs W42Hamburg9 pm CEST, 8 pm BST, 3 pm ET
Saturday, July 6Quarter-finalsMatch 48W40 vs W38Dusseldorf6 pm CEST, 5 pm BST, 12 pm ET
Saturday, July 6Quarter-finalsMatch 47W43 vs W44Berlin9 pm CEST, 8 pm BST, 3 pm ET
Tuesday, July 9Semi-finalsMatch 49W45 vs W46Munich9 pm CEST, 8 pm BST, 3 pm ET
Wednesday, July 10Semi-finalsMatch 50W47 vs W48Dortmund9 pm CEST, 8 pm BST, 3 pm ET
Sunday, July 14FinalMatch 51W49 vs W50Berlin9 pm CEST, 8 pm BST, 3 pm ET

Euro 2024 Knockout Stage Bracket: Who’s Facing Who?

EURO 2024 Knockout Stage Bracket

The EURO 2024 Knockout Stage Bracket helps you track the complete scenarios of Euro 2024. The official knockout stage bracket will be revealed after the completion of the group stage on June 26th, 2024. Once we have the final standings, we can predict the potential matchups and analyze which teams have a smoother path to the final. Keep an eye out for updates, football fans!

Do you want to download the printable Euro 2024 knockout stage bracket for free? No problem, here we have made a blank bracket for you; Here, you can Download it for Free!

FAQs

What happens if a match ends in a draw?

If a match ends in a draw after regular time, 30 minutes of extra time are played. If the score remains tied, a penalty shootout decides the winner.

Can teams from the same group face each other in the knockout stage?

No, teams from the same group will only meet again in the final if they progress through the knockout rounds without facing each other.

Where can I watch the EURO 2024 knockout stage matches?

The matches will be broadcast live on various television channels and streaming platforms depending on your region. Check your local listings for specific details.

Scroll to Top